XPLANE xBlog visual thinking http://xblog.xplane.com XPLANE http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss en-us Sat, 23 Jul 2016 12:12:04 -0700 email@addresshere.com Sat, 23 Jul 2016 12:12:04 -0700 Pop-Up XPLANE Recap: Our Design Thinking Discussion, Visualized http://xblog.xplane.com/pop-up-xplane-recap--our-design-thinking-discussion-visualized/ For our third night of our Pop-Up XPLANE adventure in Detroit, we hosted a panel of brainiacs at DC3 to discuss their worlds of design. Our Creative Director Roel Uleners was joined by Sarah White, Gensler's Design Strategist, and Christopher Patten, Henry Ford Learning Institute's Associate Director of Design Thinking to dive into the inner workings of design thinking and what it really means to have design in your... What Books Shape the Way You Work? http://xblog.xplane.com/what-books-shape-the-way-you-work/ We recently asked the XPLANE studio, "What books most shape the way you work?" and rather than sharing a boring, bullet-pointed list, our associate creative director, Tim May turned the results into a beautifully designed infographic. We're curious what books you think we're missing or you're surprised about. Let us know! Happy reading! Four Steps to Implement a Sustainability Team at Your Office http://xblog.xplane.com/four-steps-to-implement-a-sustainability-team-at-your-office-/ This fall we officially launched BAT, XPLANE’s Betterment Action Team. BAT’s cross-functional team was formed to enact more environmentally conscious practices in-house and explore new opportunities for community outreach and involvement. Launching BAT didn’t happen overnight though.    Just over a year ago I began work at XPLANE, coming most recently from an energy and sustainability management firm called Ecova... Interview with Denise Paine, New Vice President of Accounts http://xblog.xplane.com/interview-with-denise-paine-new-vice-president-of-accounts/ FIVE FUN FACTS: 1.  I’m an award winning cartoonist 2.  I was an Intelligence Officer in the Army 3.  I used to barrel race horses, now I’m just recreational 4.  I grew up (summers) on an island without electricity and water 5.  I used to live in Germany and studied in Vienna, Austria & Eastern Europe Your favorite vacation destination? Why?  Europe. I love the culture.   Three... Interview with Amanda Turner, New Vice President of Accounts http://xblog.xplane.com/interview-with-amanda-turner-new-vice-president-of-accounts/ Provide a brief overview of your background and experience: Over the past 20 years I have dedicated my career to partnering with a organizations, from start-ups to Fortune 500s in a myriad of industries. My experience ranges from global athletics to cutting edge health-care technologies, and most recently in government and defense arena. My areas of expertise and success include sales, sales strategy and adoption, reconstructing cultures,... Talking About Performance Management with Tamra Chandler http://xblog.xplane.com/talking-about-performance-management-with-tamra-chandler/ You know the zombie-like feeling you get at the end of a long conference?  Where even the tallest cup of joe will not perk you up? That was the feeling I had before walking into Tamra Chandler’s talk on Radically Rethinking Performance Management for the 21st Century at a recent Society For Human Resource Management (SHRM) conference. 90 minutes into the PeopleFirm’s CEO’s presentation (coffee untouched, eyes glued to the... Olfactoral Thinking: Pushing the Boundaries of Design and Visual Thinking http://xblog.xplane.com/olfactoral-thinking--pushing-the-boundaries-of-design-and-visual-thinking/ Design Thinking has been gaining momentum in the business world as a method for problem solving. Visual Thinking is a set of tools we have been using for years for making the invisible visible. Here at XPLANE, we continue to push the boundaries of Design Consulting with our latest offering, Olfactoral Thinking. With Empathy Mapping, we put ourselves in the user’s shoes. What are they thinking? What are they feeling? Hearing?... How to Successfully Manage Globally Dispersed Teams While Wearing Slippers http://xblog.xplane.com/how-to-successfully-manage-globally-dispersed-teams-while-wearing-slippers/ WFH. The first time I read those three letters, I had no idea what they meant. Despite my vast knowledge base of acronyms, that particular three-letter combo had never before crossed my path. Little did I know how those three letters would change my life and the lives of so many professionals throughout the modern business landscape.   As more and more companies are evolving globally and adapting to support a virtual workforce,... Five Ways to Improv Client Relationships http://xblog.xplane.com/five-ways-to-improv-client-relationships/ Last week I participated in an Improv Level 1 class, and aside from having a great time and earning a healthy respect for how difficult improv is, I came away with five key ideas to improve client relationships.   The concept of “Yes, and…” is rule number one in improv. I have found that using this in conversations helps them run smoothly. The idea that you are not blocking what a person is saying, but rather building... Approaching the Strategic Plan — Thoughtfully http://xblog.xplane.com/approaching-the-strategic-plan-—-thoughtfully/ In January 2015, we received an RFP asking for help developing a five-year strategic plan. As an organization that believes in the power of human-centered design to drive organizational performance, we have some thoughts about strategic plans.   XPLANE’s approach is always anchored in customer needs. No two approaches to strategic planning are the same as different organizations have different power dynamics and different means of...